Proposed new Parliamentary boundaries

The Boundary Commission has announced initial proposals for new Parliamentary boundaries, including the Canterbury constituency.

Canterbury and Whitstable are being split into separate seats, with Whitstable joining a new North Kent Coastal seat and Canterbury joining with Faversham.

These latest proposals differ from the previous, where Whitstable would have been sliced in half in the middle of the harbour. In the latest plans the town remains whole.

The details proposals are as follows:

Canterbury & Faversham

The Canterbury City Council wards of Barton, Blean Forest, Chartham & Stone Street, Little Stour & Adisham, Nailbourne, Northgate, St Stephen’s, Sturry, Westgate and Wincheap.

The Dover District Council wards of Aylesham and Eythorne and Shepherdswell

The Swale Borough Council wards of Abbey, Boughton and Courtney, East Downs, Priory, St Ann’s and Watling.

North Kent Coastal

The Canterbury City Council wards of Chestfield, Gorrell, Seasalter, Swalecliffe, Tankerton, Beltinge, Greenhill, Herne & Broomfield, Heron, Reculver and West Bay.

The Thanet District Council wards of Birchington North, Birchington South, Thanet Villages and Westgate-on-Sea

More information and the ability to take part in the consultation is available at:

These proposals are not yet finalised and a lot of discussions and consultations will be held, and any changes still need to pass through Parliament, something which wasn’t achieved with the previous proposals under the coalition government.